T20I Cricket World Cup Winners list

ICC T20 Cricket World Cup is an international cricket tournament organized by the International Cricket Council (ICC). The first edition of ICC Men’s T20 Cricket World Cup was played in South Africa in 2007 and the latest Men’s ICC T20I Cricket World Cup 2022 will be played in Australia from 16th October to 13th November 2022. Here we are providing the T20 World Cup Winners List from 2007 to 2022. Let’s have a look at the T20 World Cup winners list from 2007 to 2022:

World cup 2007

The Indian cricket team was the first to win the T20I Cricket World Cup playing under the captaincy of MS Dhoni in South Africa. India defeated Pakistan in the final to win the first T20 World Cup in 2007. India only lost one game in the tournament – against New Zealand in Super 8s. In this tournament, Shahid Afridi from Pakistan was the player of the series. This cricket world cup known for Bowled out between India and Pakistan followed by dramatic final between them.

Cricket World Cup 2009

After finishing as runners-up in the first T20 World Cup, Pakistan won their first T20 World Cup two years later in 2009. England hosted this tournament, and Pakistan defeated Sri Lanka by 8 wickets in the final to become champions. Pakistan lost their first match against England and a Super 8 match against Sri Lanka. Still, they managed to win the trophy. Tillakaratne Dilshan from Sri Lanka was the Player of the Series and the top run-scorer in this tournament.

T20 World Cup 2010

England was the winner of the T20 World Cup 2010. With this, England became the first non-Asian team to win the T20 World Cup in 2010. England beat Ashes rivals Australia in the final by 7 wickets. The third edition of the tournament hosted by West indies. The English team had lost to the West Indies in their first game, but they won all the following games and captured the trophy. Kevin Petersen from the winning team became the player of the series in the T20 World Cup 2010.

World cup 2012

West Indies won their first T20 World Cup in 2012 by beating hosts Sri Lanka in the summit clash by 36 runs.  West Indies also lost their first match of ICC T20 World Cup 2012 against Australia and still won the trophy. In this World Cup, Shane Watson from Australia became both Player of the Series and top run-scorer and Ajantha Mendis from Sri Lanka was the highest wicket-taker bowler.

World cup 2014

In T20 World Cup 2014, Sri Lanka defeated India to become the new T20 World Cup Winner. Sri Lanka won the final match by 6 wickets. In this World Cup, India reached in the final second time. Virat Kohli from India became both the top run-scorer and player of the series in ICC T20 World Cup 2014. Bangladesh Host the 1st time ICC big event.

T20I World Cup 2016

West Indies cricket team won the T20 World Cup 2016 by beating England in the final. With this, West Indies became the first team to win the T20 World Cup twice. Caribbean this time create the history. West Indies lost only one match against Afghanistan. Earlier, West Indies became champions for the first time in the 2012 T20 World Cup. In this World Cup, Virat Kohli was the Player of the Series and Tamim Iqbal was the highest run-scorer. In this world cup, Carlos Brathwaite smashed four sixes in a row in final over of the game.

World cup 2021

The final match of this T20 World Cup 2021 was played between Australia and New Zealand. Team Australia won the final match against New Zealand by 8 wickets and became ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2021 Winner. This is the first time when the Australian cricket team won the T20 World Cup. Mitchell Marsh from Australia became the player of the match in the T20 World Cup 2021 final match.  In this World Cup, 12 teams are participating in the main event (Super 12) which were divided into two groups.

A short List Given below

Country Name  WinnerYear
West Indies22012, 2016
Pakistan 12009
Sri Lanka12014
Australia 12021

@source – career power

Leave a Comment