Fastest Bowler in Cricket History

Bowling fast is a skill, and to be effective at that speed takes talent and a lot of practice. Pace bowlers, also known as speed guns or pace spearheads, bring more excitement in the sport with their outrageous pace and accuracy. A fast bowler in red-hot form is definitely a sight to behold on a cricket field.

Fastest Bowler in the World Cricket

At present, Shoaib Akhtar is widely consider as the world fastest bowler in the history of cricket, having bowled the fastest delivery in cricket at 161.3 km/hr. 

Over the years, the likes of Waqar Younis, Brett Lee, Allan Donald, and Shaun Tait have taken the batters by surprise with speed and accuracy throughout their career. Australia’s Mitchell Starc, New Zealand’s Lockie Ferguson, South Africa’s Kagiso Rabada, and England’s Jofra Archer are few of the fast bowlers who trouble the batter with express speed in world cricket at the moment.

All-time Fastest Delivery in Cricket History

BowlerFastest DeliveryCountryAgainstYear
Shoaib Akhtar161.3 km/hr (100.2 mph)PakistanEngland2003
Shaun Tait161.1 km/hr (100.1 mph)AustraliaEngland2010
Brett Lee161.1 km/hr (100.1 mph)AustraliaNew Zealand2005
Jeffrey Thomson160.6 km/hr (99.8 mph)AustraliaWest Indies1975
Mitchell Starc160.4 km/hr (99.7 mph)AustraliaNew Zealand2015

Fastest Bowler in India 2022 : Top 5 List

Hyderabad’s fast bowler Umran Malik has been in the spotlight of the cricket world by becoming the fastest bowler in India. In the Indian T20 League 2022 season, Umran constantly bowled at over 150kph throughout the season. Umran Malik has taken over the title of the fastest bowler in India during the 2022 season of the Indian T20 League. He bowled at an average speed of around 150km/hr, with many deliveries crossing the 150 mark. 

The likes of Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Shami, Umesh Yadav, and Mohammed Siraj have shown plenty of control and accuracy with the ball in hand. Indian fastest bowlers can now go against the quickest bowlers from Australia, South Africa, England and New Zealand.

RankBowlerFastest Delivery/BallYear
1Umran Malik157 km/hr2022
2Irfan Pathan153.7 km/hr2007
3Mohammed Shami153.3 km/hr2014
4Jasprit Bumrah153.26 km/hr2018
5Navdeep Saini152.85 km/hr2019

Leave a Comment